Getting What You Want

Now don’t take this the wrong way, and think ‘I wasn’t allowed to get the new iPhone therefore I am a hopelessly deprived human’ or whatever, that isn’t what I’m getting at. What I am meaning is slightly more inspirational TED talk, more about emotions and ambitions and all that fun stuff (I kid, it’s insanely complicated).

Don’t tell yourself you can’t. I know how easy it is – it’s the easiest thing to do. It’s the first pothole you’ll find once you start heading somewhere (or more, thinking about something). Don’t tell yourself you can’t because there are so many people who will happily say it for you. As hard as it may be, you’ve basically just got to say ‘Well stuff you guys, I can do what I want’ (of course, don’t fully take this to heart, it’s just a little confidence booster).

That, of course, is not to say it isn’t going to be difficult, because everything worth doing is difficult, or long-fought or some other deep and meaningful words I’m not bothered to type (plus that was really cheesy, so apologies for that). Just pitch a bit in every day, practice or study or revise or write or whatever you need to do to improve – but remember to do it. Remember this – every single successful person has had to practice something, even if they were fed on a silver spoon (they may have been coached on how to sell their product better etc.). So, keep that in mind and let that motivate you. You do actually get better with practice, as much as you feel like it does less than nothing while you’re doing it.

Setbacks are fine. Say you get sick and miss a class or lesson or practice – that’s alright. Email or ask someone to catch you up, or contact the person organizing whatever you’re in to say you’re not going to be there are get ahead. Don’t you just love problem solving? Say you did what I did, and broke my leg (thanks a lot, you know who you are). I was reasonably annoyed (for fair reason, my bone was broken and I had a competition coming up), but I got over it by the time I left the hospital. So, I just hobbled around for the next 2 months, still slightly bitter (lets be honest here – I was meant to be in a fancy grand final competition, but hey that’s life I guess), but not complaining at every moment I could. So, if there is a setback – let it happen. Think of it this way – all moments pass. Good ones, bad ones, so live them through.

Keep motivated. Nothing is worse than getting 80% through something, then forgetting why you’re doing it and letting it go. I’ve done it, a lot of people have, let’s be honest. So. Keep a list of the reasons why you want to do it, what positives you’ll get from it, what you may learn, how it’ll make you better (or your skills), and anything else you think necessary on there. What is also fun is looking at ‘motivational quotes’, I put it in inverted commas because more often than not they’re just a group of three words over a picture of a person running, but some aren’t half bad.

Organisation. It is annoying and painful I know, but keeping an organised list of when you’re going to practice or revise something for how long often helps – it keeps you on track, because internet (need I say more?). This links to the second paragraph, and kind of the 3rd,  and kind of the 4th. Hey – I told you organisation was helpful. Evidence. Basically, make sure you have time allocated to get what you want done so you can get amazing at it. Good on you.

Get out there and start =)

ASCL

Leave a Reply

